{{ catYear }}

About Pittsburg State University

Mission and Vision

University Mission Statement

The mission of Pittsburg State University is to provide transformational experiences for its students and the community.

Vision Statement

Pittsburg State University will be the first choice for:

  • Students seeking a quality education through nationally-recognized programs;
  • The most talented faculty and staff seeking dynamic careers;
  • Partnerships with communities, businesses, organizations, and individuals in the region;
  • External investment by donors, grant makers, and government.



Continue a campus environment where students feel a connection to the university and its faculty and staff by making students and their success the driving force behind institutional decisions at all levels.


Ensure the university strives for outcomes that are exemplary by demanding quality in all aspects of the institution's operations.


Perpetuate the university's founding principal of “By doing learn,” through the creation of academic programs and opportunities that engage students in real world activities.


Foster a diverse and international campus culture among students, faculty, and staff and students that supports an understanding and acceptance of a variety of ideas, beliefs, and cultures, thereby creating opportunity for all.


Enhance the university's strong relationship with the region and the Pittsburg community by maintaining a welcoming campus and creating big university opportunities in a small campus atmosphere.


Encourage students, faculty, and staff to take informed, calculated, and strategic risks to build upon their success, start new ventures, utilize new technologies, and forge an entrepreneurial path forward.


Recognize there are limited and finite resources in the world, and, therefore, commit ourselves to establishing best practices to conserve resources as well as decrease the university's carbon footprint.

Accreditation and Institutional Memberships

Pittsburg State University is accredited by the Higher Learning Commission, 230 South LaSalle Street, Chicago, IL 60604. In addition, Pittsburg State University holds accreditation for academic programs from the following:

  • Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • National Association of Schools of Music
  • Commission on Collegiate Nursing Education (for bachelor's and master's)
  • Association to Advance Collegiate Schools of Business (AACSB International)
  • Masters of Psychology and Counseling Accreditation Council
  • National Recreation and Park Association: Council on Accreditation for Parks, Recreation, Tourism and Related Professions
  • Council on Social Work Education
  • Applied and Natural Science Accreditation Commission of ABET, http://www.abet.org - accreditation for the baccalaureate programs in construction engineering technology, construction management, electronics engineering technology, manufacturing engineering technology, mechanical engineering technology and plastics engineering technology.
  • The university is on the list of approved schools published by the American Chemical Society, and The Foundry Education Foundation.
  • National Automotive Technicians Education Foundation
  • National Association for the Education of Young Children (preschool - Family & Consumer Sciences)
  • Commission on English Language Program Accreditation
  • Kansas State Board of Education
  • Kansas State Board of Nursing

The university has institutional memberships in the following:

  • AACTE - American Association of Colleges for Teacher Education
  • AASCU - American Association of State Colleges & Universities
  • AASHE - Association for the Advancement of Sustainability in Higher Education
  • ACUA - Association of College & University Auditors
  • ACUPCC - American College & University President's Climate Commitment
  • APPA/CAPPA - (Central) Association of Higher Ed Facilities Officers
  • BMI - Broadcast Music
  • CASE - Council for the Advancement and Support of Education
  • CUPA - College and University Personnel Association
  • HLC - Higher Learning Commission
  • MIAA - Mid America Intercollegiate Athletics
  • NACUA - National Association of College & University Attorneys
  • NACUBO/CACUBO - National/Central Association of College & University Business Officers
  • NCAA - National Collegiate Athletic Association
  • CAEP - Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation
  • SESAC - Society of European Stage Authors and Composers

History of Pittsburg State University

Pittsburg State University began in 1903 as the Auxiliary Manual Training Normal School under the State Normal School of Emporia. The institution became a four-year college in 1913 and became known as Kansas State Teachers College. During the Kansas State Teachers College era, the graduate studies program and the Master of Science and Specialist in Education degrees were established.

By 1959, the year that Kansas State Teachers College became known as Kansas State College of Pittsburg, the school had an enrollment of 2,800 and more than 20 major buildings had been added to the campus, including, Hartman, Porter, and McCray Halls, the Student Center, four residence halls and Brandenburg Field.

As Kansas State College of Pittsburg, the university continued to expand its undergraduate and graduate offerings, and in 1966, the current structure of four schools and the graduate division was organized. Additional facilities erected by 1975 included Hughes Hall and Grubbs Hall, the Weede Physical Education Building and the Cecil and Eva C. Wilkinson Alumni Center. By the fall of 1976, the college enrollment had swelled to 5,200.

On April 21, 1977, Kansas State College of Pittsburg was granted university status and was renamed Pittsburg State University.

Many additional buildings have been constructed to support the University's educational programs since 1977. These include the McPherson Nurse Education Building (1977); the Leonard H. Axe Library (1979); Heckert-Wells Hall (1984); the Kansas Technology Center (1997); the Family and Consumer Sciences Building (2004); the Tyler Polymer Research Center (2007); the Student Recreation Center/National Guard Armory (2008); and the Bryant Student Health Center (2009).

Significant additions to Brandenburg Field and Carnie Smith Stadium occurred in 1989, 2001, and 2006. Major renovations were completed in Willard Hall (2000); the Horace Mann Welcoming Center (2000); Russ Hall (2001); McCray Hall (2008 and 2012); Bowen Hall (2009); Trout Hall (2010); Tanner Hall (2011); Tanner Annex (2012); John Lance Arena (2012); Dellinger Hall (2013) and Nation Hall (2015).

Other new facilities completed since 1986 include KRPS Radio, a National Public Radio affiliate (1988); the Gene Bicknell Sports Complex (1996); the Prentice Gudgen track (1989); the Francis A. Monahan Outdoor Education Center (2001); the Robb Prairie (1986); the Veterans Memorial Amphitheater (2004), Crimson Commons (2010), Crossland Family University House (2012), Bicknell Family Center for the Arts (2014), Robert W. Plaster Center (2015) and an expanded Overman Student Center (2015).

Kansas Board of Regents

Shane Bangerter, Dodge City
Bill Feuerborn, Garnett
Blake Flanders, Edson
Cheryl Harrison-Lee, Gardner
Mark Hutton, Andover
Shellaine Kiblinger, Cherryvale
Ann Brandua Murguia, Kansas City
Jon Rolph, Wichita
Allen Schmidt, Hayes
Helen Van Etten, Topeka

Officers of Administration

Steven A. Scott, President
Howard W. Smith, Provost and Vice President for Academic Affairs
Steve Erwin, Vice President for Student Life
Doug Ball, Chief Financial Officer and Vice President for Administration
Kathleen Flannery, Vice President for University Advancement